Aiming for Further Development in Hakone Geopark

Ichiro Murayama¹, Shinobu Katano¹, *Yusuke Okutsu¹

1. Hakone Geopark Promotion Council

Hakone Geopark consists of 2 cities and 3 towns, Hakone Town, Odawara City, Manazuru Town, Yugawara Town and Minamiashigara City, were at first, consisted by 1 city and 3 towns and were authorized by Japanese Geoparks in 2012. After the authorization, there was an increasing momentum to join us in Minamiashigara City, and in 2015, Minamiashigara City, Minamiashigara-Geoguide Association and other related company joined the council. With this new material, we passed the new authorized examination in 2016.

Due to this addition, 8 new geosites were added. For example, at Mt. Yaguratake, a very new rock formation in the world, you can experience the dynamic earth movements of the Ashigara group, which joined the mainland by the collision between the plates. Also Ashigara road which has a history that is older than Tokaido has been added.

Theme of the Hakone Geopark can be understood by studying the geosites. it produced further depth and expanse in Hakone Geopark's theme and story.