Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2015

Session information

International Session (Oral)

Symbol P (Space and Planetary Sciences) » P-EM Solar-Terrestrial Sciences, Space Electromagnetism & Space Environment

[P-EM06] Mesosphere-Thermosphere-Ionosphere Coupling in the Earth's Atmosphere

Wed. May 27, 2015 2:15 PM - 4:00 PM A01 (APA HOTEL&RESORT TOKYO BAY MAKUHARI)

Convener:*Huixin Liu(Earth and Planetary Science Division, Kyushu University SERC, Kyushu University), Yuichi Otsuka(Solar-Terrestrial Environment Laboratory, Nagoya University), Libo Liu(Institute of Geology and Geophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences), Atsuki Shinbori(Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere (RISH), Kyoto University), Chair:Larisa Goncharenko(Massachusetts Institute of Technology Haystack Observatory)

The whole atmosphere concept is the key for the next breakthrough in solar-terrestrial science. This international session focuses on physical/chemical processes occurring in the mesosphere, thermosphere, and ionosphere (MTI) from both the poles to the equatorial region. Both quiet and disturbed states in response to lower atmospheric forcing or solar forcing are important for understanding the MTI system and its coupling to other regions. We invite presentations of observations with ground-based and/or space-borne instruments, theoretical studies, numerical simulations, and development of data analysis systems for various kinds of atmospheric variations in the MTI system.

2:15 PM - 2:45 PM

*Loren CHANG1, Jia YUE2, Wenbin WANG3, Qian WU3, R.r. MEIER4 (1.Institute of Space Science, National Central University, Jhongli, Taoyuan County, Taiwan, 2.Center for Atmospheric Science, Hampton University, Virginia, USA, 3.High Altitude Observatory, National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado, USA, 4.School of Physics, Astronomy, and Computational Sciences, George Mason University, Virginia, USA)

3:45 PM - 4:00 PM

Elisabeth BLANC1, *Johan KERO2, Lars CERANNNA3, Alain HAUCHECORNE4, Andrew CHARLTON-PEREZ5, Tormod KVAERNA6, Maurizio RIPEPE7, Markus RAPP8, Laslo EVERS9, Franz-jozef LUEBKEN10, Sandra BLINDHEIM11, Patrick ESPY12, Jan LASTOVICKA13, Remy BOSSU14, Jean-pierre CAMMAS15, Niklaus KAEMPFER16, Colin PRICE17, Frank MULLIGAN18, Kristin VOGFJORD19, Gerard RAMBOLAMANANA20, Constantin IONESCU21, Nicolau WALLENSTEIN22, Abdelouaheb AGREBI23, Adama DIAWARA24 (1.CEA France, 2.IRF Sweden, 3.BGR Germany, 4.CNRS France, 5.UREAD United Kingdom, 6.NORSAR Norway, 7.UNIFI Italy, 8.DLR/IPA Germany, 9.KNMI Netherlands, 10.IAP/Kuhlungsborn Germany, 11.ALOMAR Norway, 12.NTNU Norway, 13.IAP/Prague Czech Republic, 14.CEA subcontracting France, 15.Univ Reunion France, 16.IAP/Bern Switzerland, 17.TAU Israel, 18.NUIM Ireland, 19.IMO Island, 20.IOGA Madagascar, 21.NIEP Romania, 22.FGF Portugal, 23.CNCT Tunisia, 24.LAMTO Ivory Coast)