Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2015

Session information

International Session (Oral)

Symbol P (Space and Planetary Sciences) » P-EM Solar-Terrestrial Sciences, Space Electromagnetism & Space Environment

[P-EM08] Progress in Physics of the Inner Magnetosphere

Wed. May 27, 2015 9:00 AM - 10:45 AM 302 (3F)

Convener:*Danny Summers(Dept of Math and Stats,Memorial University of Newfoundland), Yusuke Ebihara(Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere, Kyoto University), Yoshizumi Miyoshi(Solar-Terrestrial Environement Laboratory, Nagoya University), Chair:Yoshizumi Miyoshi(Solar-Terrestrial Environement Laboratory, Nagoya University)

Earth's inner magnetosphere ,extending over magnetic shells L < 7, is a dynamic region of geospace comprising the radiation belts, the ring current, the plasmasphere, and the ionosphere. The Japanese mission ERG, planned for launch in 2016, will explore the inner magnetosphere and in particular will investigate particle energization in the outer radiation zone during space storms. ERG will be an exciting complement to existing space missions including the Van Allen Probes, THEMIS, Cluster, and small satellites such as CSSWE and Firebird. This session invites investigations of all aspects of inner magnetosphere physics including space and ground observations, modeling and simulations, and theory. Examples of topics of interest include particle energization and loss mechanisms, particle transport and injection, global modeling, energy coupling, generation and influence of geo-effective waves, wave-particle interactions, and diversity of inner magnetosphere responses to differing solar wind drivers.

9:00 AM - 9:15 AM

9:15 AM - 9:30 AM

*Yoshiharu OMURA1, Satoko NAKAMURA2, Danny Summers3, Mitsuru HIKISHIMA4, Craig Kletzing5 (1.Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere, Kyoto University, 2.GraduateSchool of Science, Kyoto University, 3.Memorial university of Newfoundland, 4.Solar-Terrestrial Environment Laboratory, Nagoya University, 5.Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa)

9:45 AM - 10:00 AM

Yuichi KATO1, *Yoshizumi MIYOSHI1, Kaori SAKAGUCHI2, Yoshiya KASAHARA3, Shoya MATSUDA3, Kunihiro KEIKA1, Masafumi SHOJI1, Naritoshi KITAMURA1, Shuhei HASEGAWA1, Atsushi KUMAMOTO4, Kazuo SHIOKAWA1 (1.Solar-Terrestrial Environment Laboratory, Nagoya University, Japan, 2.National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, 3.Information Media Center, Kanazawa University, Japan, 4.Department of Geophysics, Graduate School of Science, Tohoku University)

10:00 AM - 10:15 AM

*Chae-woo JUN1, Kazuo SHIOKAWA1, Kazue TAKAHASHI2, K. PAULSON3, Martin CONNORS3, I. SCHOFIELD3, I. PODDELSKY4, B. SHEVTSOV4, C. KLETZING5, J. WYGANT6 (1.Solar-Terrestrial Environment Laboratory, Nagoya University, 2.Space Physics Group (SRP), Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, USA, 3.Center for Science, Athabasca University, Athabasca, Canada, 4.Institute of Cosmophysical Research and Radiowave Propagation, Russian Federation, 5.Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa, USA, 6.of Physics and Astronomy, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA)