Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2016

Session information

International Session (Oral)

Symbol P (Space and Planetary Sciences) » P-EM Solar-Terrestrial Sciences, Space Electromagnetism & Space Environment

[P-EM09] Study of coupling processes in solar-terrestrial system

Mon. May 23, 2016 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM 106 (1F)

Convener:*Mamoru Yamamoto(Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere, Kyoto University), Satonori Nozawa(Institute for Space-Earth Environment Research), Yasunobu Ogawa(National Institute of Polar Research), Hiroyuki Hashiguchi(Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere, Kyoto University), Akimasa Yoshikawa(Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Kyushu University), Chair:Yasunobu Ogawa(National Institute of Polar Research)

The Earth accepts vast input of energy and material from the Sun. The Earth's environment is maintained by the balance between their inputs and outputs. It is important to study energy and material transport of the Earth. This is an international session that discusses studies of the coupling processes in the Sun-Earth system based on the project "Study of coupling processes in solar-terrestrial system" that was approved by the Master Plan 2014 of Science Council of Japan and the Roadmap 2014 of MEXT. The facilities and networks included are the Equatorial MU Radar (EMU) in Indonesia to study the whole equatorial atmosphere, the EISCAT_3D system to study detailed structures and elementary processes of the magnetosphere-ionosphere in the polar region, and global networks of various instruments and observation data. We will show current status of the project and discuss sciences by soliciting variety papers. This session is open to the world, and we strongly encourage submission of papers related to other facilities and projects, i.e., atmospheric or incoherent-scatter radars, observation networks, satellites, and simulation or theoretical studies, etc.

4:25 PM - 4:40 PM

*Satonori Nozawa1, Yasunobu Ogawa2, Takuo T. Tsuda3, Hitoshi Fujiwara4, Masaki Tsutsumi2, Chris Hall5, Stephan Buchert6, Norihito Saito7, Satoshi Wada7, Takuya Kawahara8, Toru Takahashi3, Tetsuya Kawabata1, Tatsuya HIBINO1, Shintaro Takita1, Asgeir Brekke5 (1.Institute for Space-Earth Environment Research, Nagoya University, 2.NIPR, 3.The University of Electro-Communications, 4.Seikei University, 5.UiT The Arctic University of Norway, 6.Swedish Institute of Space Physics, 7.RIKEN, 8.Shinshu University)