Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2018

Session information

[EE] Oral

P (Space and Planetary Sciences) » P-EM Solar-Terrestrial Sciences, Space Electromagnetism & Space Environment

[P-EM16] Dynamics of Earth's Inner Magnetosphere and Initial Results from Arase

Tue. May 22, 2018 10:45 AM - 12:15 PM 303 (3F International Conference Hall, Makuhari Messe)

convener:Danny Summers(Memorial University of Newfoundland), Yoshizumi Miyoshi(Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research, Nagoya University), Keisuke Hosokawa(電気通信大学大学院情報理工学研究科, 共同), Yusuke Ebihara(Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere, Kyoto University), Chairperson:Hosokawa Keisuke(The University of Electro-Communications)

Earth's inner magnetosphere is a fascinating source of space research problems. There remain many fundamental questions concerning the physics of the radiation belts, the ring current, the plasmasphere and the ionosphere. The JAXA spacecraft Arase(ERG) was successfully launched in December 2016, and has since been providing excellent data on waves, particles and fields over a range of L-shells in the inner magnetosphere. This session particularly welcome submissions related to the Arase mission. As well, data from other recent missions to the magnetosphere are also welcome, including the Van Allen Probes, MMS, and THEMIS. Topics of interest include charged particle interactions with the predominant electromagnetic wave modes such as whistler-mode chorus and hiss, ion cyclotron waves, magnetosonic waves, and ULF waves. Projects involving the prevailing issues of particle acceleration and loss, and particle transport are also of interest. In addition, projects involving the coupling of plasma populations in the inner magnetosphere are also timely. Studies involving observations, simulations, theory and modeling are all invited.

11:15 AM - 11:30 AM

*Tomoaki Hori1, Nozomu Nishitani1, Simon G. Shepherd2, J. M. Ruohoniemi3, Martin G Connors4, Mariko Teramoto1, Shin'ya Nakano5, Kunihiro Keika6, Kanako Seki6, Naoko Takahashi6, Satoshi Kasahara6, Shoichiro Yokota7, Takefumi Mitani8, Takeshi Takashima8, Nana Higashio9, Ayako Matsuoka8, Kazushi Asamura8, Yoichi Kazama10, Shiang-Yu Wang10, Sunny W. Y. Tam11, Yoshizumi Miyoshi1, Iku Shinohara8 (1.Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research, Nagoya University, 2.Dartmouth College, 3.Virginia Tech, 4.Athabasca University, 5.Institute of Statistical Mathematics, 6.University of Tokyo, 7.Graduate school of Science, Osaka University, 8.ISAS, JAXA, 9.TKSC, JAXA, 10.Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, 11.Institute of Space and Plasma Sciences, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan)

12:00 PM - 12:15 PM

*Andrei G Demekhov1,2, Boris V Kozelov1, Alexey V Larchenko1, Yury V Fedorenko1, Elena E Titova1, Alexey V Roldugin1, Jyrki Manninen3 (1.Polar Geophysical Institute, 2.Institute of Applied Physics RAS, Nizhny Novgorod, Russia, 3.Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory, Sodankylä, Finland)



Abstract password authentication.
Password is required to view the abstract. Please enter a password to authenticate.


Please log in with your participant account.
» Participant Log In