Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2018

Session information

[EE] Oral

S (Solid Earth Sciences) » S-CG Complex & General

[S-CG53] Science of slow earthquakes: Toward unified understandings of whole earthquake process

Thu. May 24, 2018 1:45 PM - 3:15 PM Convention Hall B (CH-B) (2F International Conference Hall, Makuhari Messe)

convener:Satoshi Ide(Department of Earth an Planetary Science, University of Tokyo), Hitoshi Hirose(Research Center for Urban Safety and Security, Kobe University), Kohtaro Ujiie(筑波大学生命環境系, 共同), Takahiro Hatano(Earthquake Research Institute, University of Tokyo), Chairperson:Mochizuki Kimihiro(Earthquake Research Institute, University of Tokyo), Ando Ryosuke(Graduate School of Science, University of Tokyo)

Accumulating observational studies on various types of slow deformation events, such as tectonic tremors, very low frequency events, and slow slip events, portrays some universal characteristics in generally complex behavior, including interaction among events and influence by various outer loadings. Some of these phenomena seem to have causal relation with the occurrence of very large earthquakes. A unified understanding of these slow and fast earthquake processes requires an approach integrating geophysics, seismology, geodesy, geology, and non-equilibrium statistical physics. We welcome presentations based on, but not limited to, geophysical observation, data analysis, analytical theory, numerical simulation, field study, and laboratory experiments.

2:00 PM - 2:15 PM

*Martha K Savage1, Hubert Zal1, Katrina Jacobs2, Stefan Mroczek1, Kenny Graham1, Jefferson Yarce3, Wei-wei Wang1, Bill Fry2, Erin Todd4, Heather Shaddox5, Jenny Nakai3, Yuriko Iwasaki6, Anne Sheehan3, Kimihiro Mochizuki6, Susan Schwartz5, Laura M Wallace2 (1.Victoria Univ. of Wellington, New Zealand, 2.GNS Science, New Zealand, 3.Univ. Colorado, Boulder, USA, 4.Univ. of Otago, New Zealand, 5.Univ. California, Santa Cruz, USA, 6.Earthquake Research Institute, Univ. of Tokyo)

2:15 PM - 2:30 PM

*Yoshitaka Hashimoto1, Christie Oliveira7, Steffen Kutterolf13, Francesca Meneghini17, Atsushi Noda19, Hannah Rabinowitz20, Michael Underwood22, Demian M Saffer2, Laura Wallace3, Katerina Petronotis4, Philip Barnes5, Rebecca Bell6, Martin Crundwell3, Ake Fagereng8, Patrick Fulton4, Annika Greve9, Robert Harris10, Andre Hüpers11, Matt Ikari11, Yoshihiro Ito12, Hiroko Kitajima4, Hikweon Lee15, Xuesen Li14, Min Luo25, Pierre Malie16, Julia Morgan18, Heather Savage20, Claire Shepherd3, Srisharan Shreedharan2, Evan Solomon21, Maomao Wang23, Adam Woodhouse24 (1.Kochi University, 2.Pennsylvania State University, 3.GNS Science, 4.Texas A&M University, 5.National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, 6.Imperial College London, 7.Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos, 8.Cardiff University, 9.JAMSTEC, 10.Oregon State University, 11.University of Bremen, 12.Kyoto University, 13.GEOMAR, 14.Guilin University of Technology, 15.KIGAM, 16.UniLaSalle Terre & Sciences, 17.Università degli Studi di Pisa, 18.Rice University, 19.AIST, 20.Columbia University, 21.University of Washington, 22.New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, 23.Hohai University, 24.University of Leeds, 25.Shanghai Ocean University)




Please log in with your participant account.
» Participant Log In