Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2018

Session information

[EE] Oral

S (Solid Earth Sciences) » S-SS Seismology

[S-SS04] Nankai Trough Seismogenic Zone Experiment toward the final challenge

Tue. May 22, 2018 10:45 AM - 12:15 PM A04 (Tokyo Bay Makuhari Hall)

convener:Kyuichi Kanagawa(Graduate School of Science, Chiba University), Gregory F Moore (University of Hawaii at Manoa), Masataka Kinoshita(東京大学地震研究所, 共同), Keir Becker(University of Miami), Chairperson:Moore Gregory(University of Hawaii at Manoa), Becker Keir

The Nankai Trough Seismogenic Zone Experiment (NanTroSEIZE) is a multidisciplinary investigation of fault mechanics and seismogenesis along the megathrust at the Nankai Trough subduction zone, and includes reflection and refraction seismic imaging, direct sampling by drilling, in situ measurements, and long-term monitoring in conjunction with laboratory and numerical modeling studies. During the past 11 IODP expeditions off Kii Peninsula since 2007, 15 sites have been drilled by D/V "Chikyu" down to depths from 100s of meters to more than 3000 meters below seafloor, where the inner and outer wedge of the Nankai margin has been sampled extensively, and two state-of-the-art real-time downhole observatories are now in operation. NanTroSEIZE is now at the final stage with only two more expeditions planned for another downhole observatory installation at the toe site in early 2018, and for resuming riser drilling toward the megathrust at ~5200 meters below seafloor starting from late 2018.
In this session jointly held with AOGS, we expect presentations on scientific outcomes from the NanTroSEIZE project and discussions toward the final challenge. We welcome presentations on, but are not limited to, seismic imaging, borehole logging and monitoring, chemical analyses of pore water and mud gas, lithology, structures, physical properties and laboratory experiments of cuttings and core samples, and theoretical and numerical modeling.

11:45 AM - 12:00 PM

*Yuya Machida1, Toshinori Kimura1, Eiichiro Araki1, Keir Becker2, Masataka Kinoshita3, Sean Toczko1, Alexander Rösner4, Tianhaozhe Sun5, Joshua Edgington6, Burhan Senyener4 (1.Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, 2.Department of Marine Geosciences, University of Miami, 3.Earthquake Research Institute, the University of Tokyo,, 4.MARUM-Center for Marine Environmental Sciences, University of Bremen, 5.School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria, 6.Texas A&M University)

12:00 PM - 12:15 PM

*Toshinori Kimura1, Eiichiro Araki1, Yuya Machida1, Kier Becker2, Masataka Kinoshita3, Sean Toczko4, Alexander Roesner5, Tianhaozhe Sun6, Joshua Edgington7, Burhan Senyener5, Earl Davis8, Takashi Yokobiki1, Shuhei Nishida1, Shuichi Kodaira1, Katsuyoshi Kawaguchi1, Narumi Takahashi9, Masanori Kyo4, Keita Akiyama4, Tomokazu Saruhashi4, Takahiro Yokoyama4, Noriaki Sakurai4 (1.JAMSTEC, 2.RSMAS, University of Miami, 3.Earthquake Research Institute, the University of Tokyo, 4.CDEX, JAMSTEC, 5.MARUM, the University of Bremen, 6.The Pennsylvania State University, 7.Texas A&M University, 8.Pacific geoscience centre, Geological survey of Canada, 9.NIED)




Please log in with your participant account.
» Participant Log In