Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2018

Session information

[EE] Oral

S (Solid Earth Sciences) » S-SS Seismology

[S-SS04] Nankai Trough Seismogenic Zone Experiment toward the final challenge

Tue. May 22, 2018 1:45 PM - 3:15 PM A04 (Tokyo Bay Makuhari Hall)

convener:Kyuichi Kanagawa(Graduate School of Science, Chiba University), Gregory F Moore (University of Hawaii at Manoa), Masataka Kinoshita(東京大学地震研究所, 共同), Keir Becker(University of Miami), Chairperson:Kinoshita Masataka(Earthquake Research Institute, the University of Tokyo), Kanagawa Kyuichi(Graduate School of Science, Chiba University)

The Nankai Trough Seismogenic Zone Experiment (NanTroSEIZE) is a multidisciplinary investigation of fault mechanics and seismogenesis along the megathrust at the Nankai Trough subduction zone, and includes reflection and refraction seismic imaging, direct sampling by drilling, in situ measurements, and long-term monitoring in conjunction with laboratory and numerical modeling studies. During the past 11 IODP expeditions off Kii Peninsula since 2007, 15 sites have been drilled by D/V "Chikyu" down to depths from 100s of meters to more than 3000 meters below seafloor, where the inner and outer wedge of the Nankai margin has been sampled extensively, and two state-of-the-art real-time downhole observatories are now in operation. NanTroSEIZE is now at the final stage with only two more expeditions planned for another downhole observatory installation at the toe site in early 2018, and for resuming riser drilling toward the megathrust at ~5200 meters below seafloor starting from late 2018.
In this session jointly held with AOGS, we expect presentations on scientific outcomes from the NanTroSEIZE project and discussions toward the final challenge. We welcome presentations on, but are not limited to, seismic imaging, borehole logging and monitoring, chemical analyses of pore water and mud gas, lithology, structures, physical properties and laboratory experiments of cuttings and core samples, and theoretical and numerical modeling.

1:45 PM - 2:00 PM

*Rina Fukuchi1, Gaël Lymer2, Christine Regalla3, Anna Cerchiari4, Baiyuan Gao5, Kan-Hsi Hsiung1, Dominik Jaeger6, Shunya Kaneki7, Jonas Keller6, Szu-Ting Kuo8, Tatiana Maison9, Ginta Motohashi10, Drake Singleton11, Suguru Yabe1, Gaku Kimura12, Kiyoshi Suyehiro1, Lena Maeda1 (1.Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, 2.University of Birmingham, 3.Boston University, 4.University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, 5.The University of Texas at Austin, 6.University of Innsbruck, 7.Osaka University, 8.Texas A&M University, 9.UniLaSalle, 10.University of Tsukuba, 11.San Diego State University, 12.Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology)

2:30 PM - 2:45 PM

*James C Sample1, Xianfeng Wang5, Sarah Weeks1, Ana Crespo-Blanc3, Yuzuru Yamamoto4, Gregory Jesmok2, William Defliese2, Aradhna Tripati2 (1.School of Earth Sciences and Enviromental Sciences, N. Arizona Univ, Flagstaff, Arizona, USA, 2.Dept. Earth, Planetary, and Space Sciences UCLA, Los Angeles, California, USA, 3.Dept. Geodynamics, Univ Granada, Granada, Spain, 4.Dept. Mathematical Science and Advanced Technology, JAMSTEC, 5.Earth Observatory of Singapore, Nanyang Tech Univ, Singapore)




Please log in with your participant account.
» Participant Log In