Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2018

Presentation information

[JJ] Oral

U (Union) » Union

[U-05] Future of Scientific Publishing in Geosciences

Tue. May 22, 2018 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM International Conference Room (IC) (2F International Conference Hall, Makuhari Messe)

convener:Hodaka Kawahata(Atmosphere Ocean Research Institute, the University of Tokyo), Hirokuni Oda(Institute of Geology and Geoinformation, Geological Survey of Japan, AIST), Chairperson:Kawahata Hodaka, Oda Hirokuni, Song Wonsuh

9:35 AM - 9:50 AM

[U05-03] Geoscience Letters, the official journal of the Asia Oceania Geosciences Society

★Invited Papers

*Kenji Satake1 (1.Earthquake Research Institute, University of Tokyo)

Keywords:Geoscience Letters, AOGS, journal

Geoscience Letters is the official journal of the Asia Oceania Geosciences Society, and a fully open access journal published as one of SpringerOpen journals. It was launched in 2014 and have published 99 papers by 2017 (volume 4).

The AOGS consists of eight scientific sections: Atmospheric Sciences, Biogeosciences, Hydrological Sciences, Interdisciplinary Geosciences, Ocean Sciences, Planetary Sciences, Solar and Terrestrial Sciences, and Solid Earth Sciences. The 25 editorial board members are selected from each section and from many different countries/regions in Asia and Oceania, namely Australia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, and Vietnam, and not dominated by any country.

About a half of them are original research letters and the other half are review papers. The AOGS has encouraged the Axford (Society) lectures and Section Distinguished Lectures to submit their lectures as review papers. In particular, newly-established Kamide Early Career Researcher (ECR) Award is selected from those who gave ECR-Distinguished Lecture at the AOGS annual meeting and published a paper in Geoscience Letters.

Geoscience Letters publishes thematic collections. This is similar to the special issues in traditional journals and guest editors are invited. A significant difference is that the accepted papers are first published as regular papers. Once all the papers in the collection are published, they are collected and can be seen from different windows of the website. Three collections are published. They are “History and development of Solar Terrestrial Sciences including auroral sub-storms” (15 papers) in 2015, “Historical and geological studies of earthquakes” (9 papers) in 2016, and “Coupling of magnetosphere-ionosphere system” (5 papers) in 2017.