Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2019

Session information

[J] Oral

M (Multidisciplinary and Interdisciplinary) » M-SD Space Development & Earth Observation from Space

[M-SD44] Future Missions of Satellite Earth Observation

Wed. May 29, 2019 10:45 AM - 12:15 PM 302 (3F)

convener:Yoshiaki HONDA(Center for Environmental Remote Sensing, Chiba University), Yukari Takayabu(Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, the University of Tokyo), Shinichi Sobue(Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency), Yuki Kaneko(Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency), Chairperson:Kazuhiro Asai(東北工業大学), Toshiyoshi Kimura(宇宙航空研究開発機構)

Satellite observation can be an effective tool in science and can be applied to the rapid global environmental change. Monitoring for a long term, advancing new ideas and developing technologies to support them are needed to solve social and scientific problems.
The Task Force on Future Space R&D System of the Subcommittee on Remote Sensing (TF) supported by 25 academic societies and affiliated organizations has formulated the ''Grand Design of Earth Observation'' in FY2017. From the academic point of view, it suggests earth observation missions that Japan should conduct within a decade. From September 2018 to December 2018, the TF calls for proposals of earth observation missions as a trial that aims to discover new ideas from the scientific and practical domains and refine those ideas through multidisciplinary discussion. The adopted proposals will be mentioned in the revised Grand Design, and the TF will work with the government on using it as a reference in updating the Implementation Plan of the Committee on National Space Policy.
This session consists of oral presentations of the proposals that passed the preliminary examination of documents and active discussions to expand and deepen the study. We welcome attendees from various backgrounds who are interested in earth observation.

11:00 AM - 11:15 AM

*Shoken Ishii1, Kozo Okaoto2,1, Takuji Kubota3, Atsushi Sato4,1, Daisuke Sakaizaw3, Tomoaki Nishizawa5, Ayako Matsumoto6, Tetsuya Tugami6, Toshiyuki Ishibashi2, Taichu Y Tanaka2, Philippe Baron1, Makoto Aoki1, Riko Oki3, Masaki Satoh7, Toshiki Iwasaki8 (1.National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, 2.JMA/MRI, 3.JAXA, 4.TIT, 5.NIES, 6.ANA, 7.University of Tokyo, 8.Tohoku University)

Discussion (12:00 PM - 12:15 PM)




Please log in with your participant account.
» Participant Log In