Japan Geoscience Union Meeting 2019

Session information

[E] Oral

S (Solid Earth Sciences ) » S-SS Seismology

[S-SS06] Nankai Trough Seismogenic Zone Experiment: Logging and sampling the seismogenic megathrust

Tue. May 28, 2019 1:45 PM - 3:15 PM Convention Hall B (2F)

convener:Kyuichi Kanagawa(Graduate School of Science, Chiba University), Demian M Saffer(Pennsylvania State University), Masataka Kinoshita(Earthquake Research Institute, University of Tokyo), Chairperson:Kyuichi Kanagawa(Graduate School of Science, Chiba University), Demian Saffer(Department of Geosciences, Pennsylvania State University), Masataka Kinoshita(Earthquake Research Institute, the University of Tokyo)

The Nankai Trough Seismogenic Zone Experiment (NanTroSEIZE) is a multidisciplinary investigation of fault mechanics and seismogenesis along the megathrust at the Nankai Trough subduction zone, and includes reflection and refraction seismic imaging, direct sampling by drilling, in situ measurements, and long-term monitoring in conjunction with laboratory and numerical modeling studies. During the past 12 IODP expeditions off Kii Peninsula since 2007, 15 sites have been drilled by D/V "Chikyu" down to depths from 100s of meters to more than 3000 meters below seafloor, where the inner and outer wedge of the Nankai margin has been logged and sampled extensively, and three state-of-the-art real-time downhole observatories are now in operation. The final NanTroSEIZE expedition aiming to log and sample the seismogenic megathrust at ~5200 meters below seafloor is now ongoing from October, 2018 to March, 2019.
In this session, we expect presentations not only on scientific outcomes from the past NanTroSEIZE expeditions, but also on the exciting preliminary results of the final NanTroSEIZE expedition. We welcome presentations on, but are not limited to, seismic imaging, borehole logging and monitoring, chemical analyses of pore water and mud gas, lithology, structures, physical properties and laboratory experiments of cuttings and core samples, and theoretical and numerical modeling.

2:00 PM - 2:15 PM

*Harold Tobin1, Takehiro Hirose7, Matt Ikari5, Kyuichi Kanagawa10, Gaku Kimura3, Masataka Kinoshita8, Hiroko Kitajima6, Demian M Saffer4, Asuka Yamaguchi9, Lena Maeda2, Nobu Eguchi2, Sean Toczko2 (1.Department of Earth and Space Sciences, University of Washington, 2.JAMSTEC-CDEX, 3.Tokyo Un. of Marine Science-Technology, 4.Penn State University, 5.MARUM Un. of Bremen, 6.Texas A&M University, 7.JAMSTEC-KCC, 8.Un. of Tokyo Earthquake Research Institute, 9.Un. of Tokyo AORI, 10.Chiba University)

2:30 PM - 2:45 PM

*Toshinori Kimura1, Takashi Tonegawa1, Kazuya Shiraishi1, Eiichiro Araki1, Yasuyuki Nakamura1, Yuka Kaiho1, Gou Fujie1, Seiichi Miura1, Shuichi Kodaira1, Noriaki Sakurai1, Yoshinori Sanada1, Yukari Kido1, Masataka Kinoshita2, Narumi Takahashi3,1, Yuya Machida1, Shuhei Nishida1 (1.Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, 2.Earthquake Research Institute, The University of Tokyo, 3.National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Resilience)

2:45 PM - 3:00 PM

*Gaku Kimura1, Asuka Yamaguchi2, Yohei Hamada3, Suguru Yabe4 (1.Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, 2.Atomosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo, 3.Kochi Institute for Core Sample Research, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, 4.Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology)




Please log in with your participant account.
» Participant Log In