JpGU-AGU Joint Meeting 2020

Session information

[J] Oral

A (Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences ) » A-CG Complex & General

[A-CG57] Science in the Arctic Region

convener:Masashi Niwano(Meteorological Research Institute), Shunsuke Tei(Arctic Research Center, Hokkaido University), Tetsu Nakamura(Faculty of Environmental Earth Science, Hokkaido University), Jun Ono(Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institude, The University of Tokyo)

The Arctic and circumpolar region is the key area for the study of global change because the anthropogenic impact is projected to be the largest in this area due to the complicated feedback processes of the nature. A number of international and interdisciplinary research projects have been conducted for the studies on the land-atmosphere-ocean system. In order to understand the feedback processes occurring in the Arctic and to project the global warming in the future, we need to establish the intense observational network and to exchange the knowledge and information by combining the different scientific communities under the common interest of the Arctic. The objectives of this session are 1) to exchange our knowledge on the observational facts and integrated modelling and 2) to deepen our understanding on wide range of natural sciences related to the Arctic and the circumpolar region. Studies on humanities, social sciences, and interdisciplinary fields are also welcomed.

*Teppei J Yasunari1,2,3, Kyu-Myong Kim4, Hisashi Nakamura5, Nakbin Choi6, Myong-In Lee6, Yoshihiro Tachibana7, Yutaka Matsumi8, Shigeto Wakabayashi9, Arlindo M da Silva4 (1.Arctic Research Center, Hokkaido University, 2.Global Station for Arctic Research, GI-CoRE, Hokkaido University, 3.Center for Natural Hazards Research, Hokkaido University, 4.NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, 5.Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology, The University of Tokyo, 6.Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, 7.Faculty of Bioresources, Mie University, 8.Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research (ISEE), Nagoya University, 9.School of Engineering, Hokkaido University)

*Go Iwahana1, Robert Busey1, Reginald Muskett1, Hiroshi Ohno2, Ji-Woong Yang3, Jinho Ahn3, Simon Zwieback4, Franz Meyer4, Masao Uchida5, Kazuyuki Saito6 (1.International Arctic Research Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 2.Kitami Institute of Technology, 3.Seoul National University, 4.Geophysical Institute, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 5.National Institute for Environment Studies, 6.Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology)

*Kazuki Yanagiya1, Masato Furuya2, Go Iwahana3,4, Petr Danilov5, Alexander Fedorov6 (1.Graduate School of Science Hokkiado University, 2. Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences Hokkaido University, 3.International Arctic Research Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 4.Arctic Research Center Hokkaido University, 5.Institute of Northern Applied Ecology North-Eastern Federal University in Yakutsk, 6.Yakutsk Permafrost Institute)