JpGU-AGU Joint Meeting 2020

Session information

[E] Poster

M (Multidisciplinary and Interdisciplinary) » M-GI General Geosciences, Information Geosciences & Simulations

[M-GI36] Open Science in Progress: Data Sharing, e-Infrastructure, and Transparency in International Contexts

convener:Yasuhisa Kondo(Research Institute for Humanity and Nature), Baptiste Cecconi(LESIA, Observatoire de Paris, CNRS, PSL Research University), Yasuhiro Murayama(Strategic Program Produce Office, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology), Shelley Stall(American Geophysical Union)

Open Science is widely accepted as a new research paradigm to accelerate scientific innovation. Deployed by ICSU-WDS (2008), G8 Open Data Charter (2013), deployment of Research Data Alliance (2013), OECD Global Science Forum's research projects (2016), and G7 Science Ministers' Communique (2017), it commonly refers to the top-down policies making results of publicly-funded research freely available and accessible. Open Science also refers to the participatory bottom-up approaches such as citizen science, crowdfunding, and transdisciplinary research (Kitamoto 2016). It is noted that both approaches envision the transformation of research process to more findable, accessible, interoperable, and reusable one (Wilkinson et al. 2016).
Followed by the JpGU-AGU Great Debate "Role of open data and open science in Geoscience" at JpGU Annual Meeting 2018, follow-up sessions at the AGU Fall Meetings 2018 and 2019, and JpGU 2019, this session reviews the current broad spectrum of Open Science in international contexts. The session welcomes a wide range of papers and posters covering (but not limited to) open research data, open source licenses, data papers and journals, data repository, e-infrastructures and platforms for sharing data, citizen science, crowdsourcing, crowdfunding, transdisciplinary research, capacity building, international networking, and deployment in earth and planetary sciences.

*Baptiste Cecconi1,2, Loh Alan1,2, Evangelia Tremou1, Julien N Girard3, Brice Lamire4, Philippe Hamy4, Albert Shih4, Pierre Le Sidaner4, Cédric Viou2, Emmanuel Thétas2, Philippe Zarka1,2, Laurent Denis2 (1.LESIA, Observatoire de Paris, CNRS, PSL Research University, France, 2.Station de radioastronomie de Nançay, CNRS/Observatoire de Paris - PSL - Université d’Orléans/OSUC, France, 3.AIM/CEA Paris-Saclay, Université de Paris, CNRS, Gif-sur-Yvette, France, 4.DIO, Observatoire de Paris, CNRS, PSL Research University, France)