JpGU-AGU Joint Meeting 2020

Session information

[E] Oral

M (Multidisciplinary and Interdisciplinary) » M-IS Intersection

[M-IS11] Expedition Earth: discovering our planet's past and future through scientific drilling

convener:Junichiro Kuroda(Department of Ocean Floor Geoscience, Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, the University of Tokyo), Katsuyoshi Michibayashi(Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Nagoya University), Kohtaro Ujiie(Graduate School of Life and Environmental Sciences, University of Tsukuba), Clive Robert Neal(University of Notre Dame)

This multidisciplinary session encourages presentations of various scientific researches that uses samples and data obtained through scientific drilling projects such as the International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP) and the International Continental Scientific Drilling Project (ICDP). We organize several subsessions on the basis of scientific themes to effectively convey achievements and information to the audiences. These scientific themes include "Resilient and Dynamic Earth" (geohazard, climate change and natural resources), "Terrestrial to Extraterrestrial" (plate tectonics, planetary structure, asteroid impacts, and deep biosphere/astrobiology), and "Innovative Science and Technology" (subseafloor observatories, drilling technology development and data science). This session will invite lectures that summarize recent achievements and highlights in each field, and encourages presentations on recently implemented ICDP projects and IODP expeditions. We also aim to provide information on upcoming ICDP projects or IODP expeditions, and we welcome contributions on state-of-the art technological developments related to scientific drilling. The principal goal of this session is to provide a place where participants can efficiently acquire substantial information related to scientific drilling.
Also please visit the J-DESC event page for more details on this session;
J-DESC event page

*Takashi Sano1, Maria Luisa Tejada2, Clive R. Neal3, Millard Coffin4, Masao Nakanishi5, Peter J. Michael6, Jörg Geldmacher7, Takeshi Hanyu2, Seiichi Miura2, Christian Timm8, Anthony A. P. Koppers9, Daisuke Suetsugu2, Takashi Tonegawa2, Akira Ishikawa10, Kenji Shimizu2, Paterno Castillo11 (1.National Museum of Nature and Science, 2.Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, 3.University of Notre Dame, USA, 4.University of Tasmania, Australia, 5.Chiba University, 6.The University of Tulsa, USA, 7.GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany, 8.GNS Science, New Zealand, 9.Oregon State University, USA, 10.Tokyo Institute of Technology, 11.Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD, USA)