JpGU-AGU Joint Meeting 2020

Session information

[E] Poster

P (Space and Planetary Sciences ) » P-EM Solar-Terrestrial Sciences, Space Electromagnetism & Space Environment

[P-EM16] Magnetospheric Multi Scale (MMS) mission: Accomplishments and Future Plans

convener:Yoshifumi Saito(Solar System Science Division, Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency), James L Burch(Southwest Research Institute), Barbara L Giles(NASA Goddard Space Flight Center), Hiroshi Hasegawa(Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency)

NASA's Magnetospheric Multiscale (MMS) formation flying satellites have been making unprecedentedly high time resolution measurements of collisionless plasmas in and around Earth's magnetosphere since it was launched in 2015. After completing its nominal mission in 2018, MMS has continued its observations including targeting the magnetic reconnection in the Earth's magnetotail.
The major purpose of this session is to summarize the new world of electron physics that MMS has so far revealed and also to consider a future observation plan recently submitted by the mission team for the extended mission of MMS especially during the coming several years.
The collaboration with multiple missions including Geotail, Cluster II, THEMIS, Arase and other solar terrestrial probes while MMS focuses into electron scale is the key to understanding multiscale phenomena in the Earth's magnetosphere.
We solicit contributions from satellite observations, numerical simulations, laboratory observations, and theories that relate MMS observations. Contributions to the possible future observation plans are especially welcome.
This is a joint session with American Geophysical Union (AGU).
We hope this session will promote further international collaboration among Japan, United States and space physicists all over the world.

*Hiroshi Hasegawa1, Richard E. Denton2, Rumi Nakamura3, Kevin J. Genestreti4, Takuma Nakamura3, Kyoung Joo Hwang5, Narges Ahmadi6, Tai D. Phan7, Roy B. Torbert4, Jim L. Burch5, Barbara L. Giles8, Dan J. Gershman8, Christopher T. Russell9, Robert J. Strangeway9, Per Arne Lindqvist10, Yuri V. Khotyaintsev11, Robert E. Ergun6, Yoshifumi Saito1 (1.Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, 2.Dartmouth College, 3.Space Research Institute, Austrian Academy of Science, 4.University of New Hampshire, 5.Southwest Research Institute, 6.University of Colorado, 7.Space Sciences Laboratory, University of California Berkeley, 8.NASA Goddard Space Flight Ceter, 9.University of California Los Angeles, 10.Royal Institute of Technology, 11.Swedish Institute of Space Physics)

*Masaki N Nishino1, Yoshifumi Saito1, Iku Shinohara1, Tsugunobu Nagai1, Kazushi Asamura1, Yoichi Kazama2, Shiang-Yu Wang2, Sunny Wing-Yee Tam3, Ayako Matsuoka1, Yoshizumi Miyoshi4, Barbara L Giles5, Christopher T Russell6, Daniel J Gershman7, Benoit Lavraud8, Yukinaga Miyashita9 (1.Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, 2.Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, 3.Institute of Space and Plasma Sciences, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan, 4.Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research, Nagoya University, 5.NASA, Goddard Space Flight Center, 6.University of California, Los Angeles, 7.University of Maryland, College Park, 8.Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie, 9.Korean Astronomy and Space Science Institute)