JpGU-AGU Joint Meeting 2020

Session information

[E] Oral

P (Space and Planetary Sciences ) » P-EM Solar-Terrestrial Sciences, Space Electromagnetism & Space Environment

[P-EM20] Recent Advances in Ionosphere Observation and Modeling through New Observation Opportunities

convener:CHIYEN LIN(Center for Astronautical Physics and Engineering, National Central University, TAIWAN), Yen-Jung Wu(Space Sciences Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley), Yang-Yi Sun(China University of Geosciences), Charles Lin(Department of Earth Sciences, National Cheng Kung University)

Rapid developments in space technology are advancing our understanding of ionospheric space weather by increasing a great number of ground- and space-based observations over the recent decades. In the ground segment, the dense ground-based GNSS networks, radars, and airglow instruments have greatly extended the observational coverages. In the space segment, the extraordinary satellite missions, such as FORMOSAT-7/COSMIC-2, ESA-SWARM NASA-ICON and -GOLD, providing a variety of observations all over the world such as airglow, temperature, neutral winds, current, ion drifts, plasma density that contribute to the understanding of middle and upper atmospheric dynamics. Increasing ground based observations are also important for coordinations with these satellite missions.
With the large amount and diversity of datasets, theoretical and empirical models can be validated, and implemented for inclusion of new thermosphere and ionosphere phenomena. Furthermore, remarkable breakthrough of data assimilation techniques advances the ionosphere monitoring and forecast.
The purpose of this session is to solicit studies providing observations, theoretical and empirical modeling and data assimilation on the multiple scales of ionospheric phenomena, from global morphology to small-scale irregularities and traveling ionospheric disturbances. Studies from magnetically quiescent to storm conditions as well as influences from lower atmosphere will also be solicited.

*Yosuke Yamazaki1, Vivien Matthias2, Yasunobu Miyoshi3, Claudia Stolle1,4, Tarique Siddiqui1, Guram Kervalishvili1, Jan Laštovička5, Michal Kozubek5, William Ward6, David Themens6, Samuel Kristoffersen6, Patrick Alken7,8 (1.GFZ Potsdam, 2.PIK Potsdam, 3.Kyushu Univ., 4.Univ. of Potsdam, 5.CAS Prague, 6.Univ. of New Brunswick, 7.Colorado Univ., 8.NOAA)