JpGU-AGU Joint Meeting 2017

Session information

[EE] Poster

P (Space and Planetary Sciences) » P-EM Solar-Terrestrial Sciences, Space Electromagnetism & Space Environment

[P-EM13] [EE] Exploring space plasma processes with Magnetospheric Multiscale (MMS) mission

Sat. May 20, 2017 5:15 PM - 6:30 PM Poster Hall (International Exhibition Hall HALL7)

NASA's Magnetospheric Multiscale (MMS) mission has been making formation-flying observations of collision-less plasmas in and around Earth's magnetosphere since launched in March 2015. With a spacecraft separation as small as 10 km, the four MMS spacecraft now probe sub ion-scale structures in and around the magnetopause and magnetotail current sheets, measuring the plasma and fields at comparably high temporal resolutions for the first time. After completing its dayside magnetopause seasons in January 2017, MMS will start to unveil electron-scale physics of magnetic reconnection and associated phenomena in the magnetotail. The purpose of this session is to bring together and discuss the latest results on multiscale processes in and around the magnetosphere, including: magnetic reconnection, wave-particle interaction, turbulence in the magnetosheath and low-latitude boundary layers, Flux Transfer Events, dipolarization fronts in the magnetotail, and kinetic processes at and around the bow shock. We solicit abstracts investigating these and related topics using observations, theory and modeling, and laboratory experiments, with emphasis on relevance to the interpretation of MMS data. Results from Geotail, Cluster, THEMIS, VAPs, and other spacecraft observations that have prospects for future MMS observations are welcome. For a truly multiscale perspective, relevant ground-based observations from all sky imagers, meridian scanning photometers, magnetometer chains, and radars of various types are also solicited.

*Levon A Avanov1,2, David A Mackler3, Natalia Y Buzulukova1,2, Danial J Gershman1,2, Barbara L. Giles1, John C Dorelli1, Craig C Pollock5, Victoria N Coffey4, Michael O Chandler4 (1.NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, 2.University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA, 3.The Catholic University of America, Washington DC, USA, 4.NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, 5.Scientific Denali, Healy AK)

*Benoit Lavraud1, Yongcun Zhang2, Yoann Vernisse1, Daniel Gershman3, John Dorelli3,4, Paul Cassak5, Jérémy Dargent1, Craig Pollock3, Barbara Giles3, Nicolas Aunai6, Matthew Argall7, Levon Avanov3, Alexander Barrie3,8, James Burch9, Michael Chandler3, Li-Jen Chen3, Ian Cohen11, Victoria Coffey10, Jonathan Eastwood12, Jan Egedal13, Stefan Eriksson14, Robert Ergun14, Charlie Farrugia7, Stephen Fuselier9, Vincent Génot1, Daniel Graham15, Elena Grigorenko16, Hiroshi Hasegawa17, Christian Jacquey1, Issaad Kacem1, Yuri Khotyaintsev15, Olivier Le Contel6, Elisabeth MacDonald3, Werner Magnes18, Barry Mauk11, Thomas Moore3, Toshifumi Mukai17, Rumi Nakamura18, William Paterson3, Emmanuel Penou1, Tai Phan19, Amy Rager3,20, Alessandro Retino6, Z. Rong21, Christopher Russell22, Yoshifumi Saito17, Jean-André Sauvaud1, Stephen Schwartz12, C. Shen23, Suzanne Smith4 (1.IRAP-CNRS, Toulouse, France, 2.State Key Laboratory of Space Weather, NSSC/CAS, Beijing, China, 3.NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD, 4.University of Maryland, College Park, MD, 5.West Virginia University, WV, 6.Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Palaiseau, France, 7.University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH, 8.Millenium Engineering, Arlington, VA, 9.Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio, TX, 10.NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, AL, 11.Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, Laurel, MD, 12.The Blackett Laboratory, Imperial College, London, UK, 13.University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, 14.University of Colorado / Laboratory for Atmospheric & Space Physics, Boulder, CO, 15.Swedish Institute of Space Physics, Uppsala, Sweden, 16.Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia, 17.Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, JAXA, Sagamihara, Japan, 18.Space Research Institute, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Graz, Austria, 19.Space Sciences Laboratory, Berkeley, CA, 20.Catholic University of America, Washington, DC, 21.Key Laboratory of Earth and Planetary Physics, IGG/CAS, Beijing, China, 22.University of California, Los Angeles, CA, 23.Harbin Institute of Technology, Shenzhen, China)

*Sun Hee Lee1, David G. Sibeck1, Kyoung-Joo Hwang1,2, Yongfu Wang3, Marcos V. D. Silveira1, Mei-Ching Fok1, Barry Mauk4, Cohen J. Ian4, Mike Ruohoniemi5, Naritoshi Kitamura6, Jim Burch7, Barbara Giles1, Roy Torbert8, Christopher T. Russell9, Mark Lester10 (1.NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, 2.Goddard Planetary and Heliophysics Institute, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Baltimore, MD 21228, USA., 3.Institute of Space Physics and Applied Technology School of Earth and Space Sciences, Peking University, Beijing 100871, China, 4.The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, 11100 Johns Hopkins Rd., Laurel, MD 20723, USA., 5.Bradley Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA., 6.Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (ISAS), Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) 3-1-1 Yoshinodai, Chuo-ku, Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan., 7.Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio, TX, USA., 8.University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH, USA., 9.University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA., 10.Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Leicester, Leicester, LE1 7RH, United Kingdom.)

*Amy Catherine Rager1, John Dorelli2, Daniel J Gershman2,3, Jan Egedal4, Roy Torbert5, James L Burch6, Robert Ergun7, Levon A Avanov2,3, Conrad Schiff2, Barbara L Giles2, William R Paterson2, Craig J Pollock8, Robert Strangeway9, Christopher T Russell9, Benoit Lavraud10, Victoria Coffey11, Yoshifumi Saito12 (1.Catholic University of America, 2.NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, 3.University of Maryland, 4.University of Wisconsin, 5.University of New Hampshire, 6.Southwest Research Institute, 7.University of Colorado Boulder, 8.Denali Scientific, 9.University of California, 10.Research Institute in Astrophysics and Planetology, 11.NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, 12.Institute for Space and Astronomical Science)



Abstract password authentication.
Password is required to view the abstract. Please enter a password to authenticate.


Please log in with your participant account.
» Participant Log In