Frictional properties of opal gouge at low-temperature hydrothermal conditions and their implications for seismogenic faulting along subduction-zone megathrusts

*金川 久一 1 、中西 智哉 2 、桑名 盛人 3 、澤井 みち代 1 、廣瀬 丈洋 4

1. 千葉大学理学研究院、2. 千葉大学大学院融合理工学府、3. 千葉大学理学部、4. 海洋研究開発機構高知コア研究所 1. School of Science, Chiba University, 2. Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Chiba University, 3. Faculty of Science, Chiba University, 4. Kochi Institute for Core Sample Research, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology

We conducted a series of triaxial friction experiments on opal gouge at low-temperature ($\leq 200^{\circ}$ C) hydrothermal conditions, in order to address the change in frictional stability along subduction-zone megathrusts. The results revealed frictional properties of opal gouge dependent on temperature (T), displacement (V) or pore water presure (P_p), as described below.

When fitted by the rate- and state-friction constitutive law, friction parameter a does not change much with T, V or P_p , while friction parameter b increases, and resultantly (a-b) value decreases with increasing T, decreasing V or increasing P_p . Microstructural observations revealed that densification and coalescence of gouge particles occurred at higher T, suggesting the operation of pressure solution. Thus increasing activity of thermally activated pressure solution with increasing T, decreasing V or increasing P_p promotes gouge lithification to increase frictional strength, by which (a-b) value decreases to <0, and thereby the transition from aseismic faulting to seismic faulting along subduction-zone megathrusts. Our results also imply that increasing P_p at that transition region where $(a-b) \approx 0$ would decrease (a-b) value to <0, and hence promote slow seismic faulting with small negative (a-b) values, which is consistent with high V_p/V_S ratios observed in the regions of slow earthquakes.

キーワード:摩擦特性、オパールガウジ、低温熱水条件

Keywords: frictional properties, opal gouge, low-temperature hydrothermal conditions

^{*}Kyuichi Kanagawa¹, Tomoya Nakanishi², Morito Kuwana³, Michiyo Sawai¹, Takehiro Hirose⁴