JpGU-AGU Joint Meeting 2020

Session information

[E] Oral

M (Multidisciplinary and Interdisciplinary) » M-IS Intersection

[M-IS11] Expedition Earth: discovering our planet's past and future through scientific drilling

convener:Junichiro Kuroda(Department of Ocean Floor Geoscience, Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, the University of Tokyo), Katsuyoshi Michibayashi(Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Nagoya University), Kohtaro Ujiie(Graduate School of Life and Environmental Sciences, University of Tsukuba), Clive Robert Neal(University of Notre Dame)

This multidisciplinary session encourages presentations of various scientific researches that uses samples and data obtained through scientific drilling projects such as the International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP) and the International Continental Scientific Drilling Project (ICDP). We organize several subsessions on the basis of scientific themes to effectively convey achievements and information to the audiences. These scientific themes include "Resilient and Dynamic Earth" (geohazard, climate change and natural resources), "Terrestrial to Extraterrestrial" (plate tectonics, planetary structure, asteroid impacts, and deep biosphere/astrobiology), and "Innovative Science and Technology" (subseafloor observatories, drilling technology development and data science). This session will invite lectures that summarize recent achievements and highlights in each field, and encourages presentations on recently implemented ICDP projects and IODP expeditions. We also aim to provide information on upcoming ICDP projects or IODP expeditions, and we welcome contributions on state-of-the art technological developments related to scientific drilling. The principal goal of this session is to provide a place where participants can efficiently acquire substantial information related to scientific drilling.
Also please visit the J-DESC event page for more details on this session;
J-DESC event page

*Hiroshi Ogasawara1, Bennie Liebenberg2, Yasuo Yabe3, Takatoshi Ito3, Jim Mori4, Tetsuro Hirono5, Yuhji Yamamoto6, Tullis C Onstott7, Tom L. Kieft8, Ray J. Durrheim9, Musa S.D. Manzi9, Martin Ziegler10, Thomas Wieresberg11, Serge Shapiro12, Surendra N. Samala13, Esta van Heerden14, Julio Castillo15, Phil Dight16 (1.Faculty of Science and Engineering, Ritsumeikan University, 2.Moab Khotsong mine, 3.Tohoku Univ., 4.Kyoto Univ., 5.Osaka Univ., 6.Kochi Core Center, Kochi Univ., 7.Princeton Univ., 8.New Mexico Inst., 9.Univ. Witwatersrand, 10.ETH, Zurich, 11.GFZ, Potsdam, 12.Berlin Free Univ., 13.Indian Inst. Tech., Hyderabad, 14.iWater, 15.Free State Univ., 16.W. Australia Univ.)