JpGU-AGU Joint Meeting 2017

Session information

[EE] Oral

P (Space and Planetary Sciences) » P-EM Solar-Terrestrial Sciences, Space Electromagnetism & Space Environment

[P-EM13] [EE] Exploring space plasma processes with Magnetospheric Multiscale (MMS) mission

Sat. May 20, 2017 10:45 AM - 12:15 PM 105 (International Conference Hall 1F)

convener:Hiroshi Hasegawa(Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency), Thomas Earle Moore(NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr), Benoit Lavraud(IRAP), Seiji Zenitani(NAOJ National Astronomical Observatory of Japan), Chairperson:Seiji Zenitani(NAOJ National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)

NASA's Magnetospheric Multiscale (MMS) mission has been making formation-flying observations of collision-less plasmas in and around Earth's magnetosphere since launched in March 2015. With a spacecraft separation as small as 10 km, the four MMS spacecraft now probe sub ion-scale structures in and around the magnetopause and magnetotail current sheets, measuring the plasma and fields at comparably high temporal resolutions for the first time. After completing its dayside magnetopause seasons in January 2017, MMS will start to unveil electron-scale physics of magnetic reconnection and associated phenomena in the magnetotail. The purpose of this session is to bring together and discuss the latest results on multiscale processes in and around the magnetosphere, including: magnetic reconnection, wave-particle interaction, turbulence in the magnetosheath and low-latitude boundary layers, Flux Transfer Events, dipolarization fronts in the magnetotail, and kinetic processes at and around the bow shock. We solicit abstracts investigating these and related topics using observations, theory and modeling, and laboratory experiments, with emphasis on relevance to the interpretation of MMS data. Results from Geotail, Cluster, THEMIS, VAPs, and other spacecraft observations that have prospects for future MMS observations are welcome. For a truly multiscale perspective, relevant ground-based observations from all sky imagers, meridian scanning photometers, magnetometer chains, and radars of various types are also solicited.

11:15 AM - 11:30 AM

*Naritoshi Kitamura1, Masahiro Kitahara2, Masafumi Shoji3, Yoshizumi Miyoshi3, Yuto Katoh2, Satoko Nakamura4, Hiroshi Hasegawa1, Yoshifumi Saito1, Shoichiro Yokota1, Barbara L Giles5, Thomas E Moore5, Daniel J Gershman5,6, Craig J Pollock7, Adolfo F Vinas5, Christopher T Russell8, Robert J Strangeway8, Stephen A Fuselier9, James L Burch9 (1.Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, 2.Department of Geophysics, Graduate school of Science, Tohoku University, 3.Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research, Nagoya University, 4.Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere, Kyoto University, 5.NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, 6.University of Maryland, 7.Denali Scientific, 8.Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics, University of California, Los Angeles, 9.Southwest Research Institute)

11:30 AM - 11:45 AM

*Guan Le1, Peter Chi2, Robert J Strangeway2, Christopher T Russell2, James Slavin3, Kazue Takahashi4, Howard Singer5, Vassilis Angelopoulos2, Brain Anderson4, Kenneth Bromund1, David Fischer6, Emil Kepko1, Werner Magnes6, Rumi Nakamura6, Ferdinand Plaschke6, Roy Torbert7 (1.NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA, 2.University of California, Los Angeles, USA, 3.University of Michigan, USA, 4.The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, USA, 5.National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration/SEC, USA, 6.Space Reserach Institute, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria, 7.University of New Hampshire, USA )

11:45 AM - 12:00 PM

*Ali Varsani1, Rumi Nakamura1, Victor A Sergeev2, Wolfgang Baumjohann1, Anatoli A Petrukovich3, Christopher J Owen4, Zhonghua Yao5, Thomas Sotirelis6, Ferdinand Plaschke1, Werner Magnes1, Christopher T Russell7, Yuri V Khotyaintsev8, Barbara L Giles9, John Dorelli9, Daniel J Gershman10, Robert J Strangeway7, Victoria N Coffey11, Roy B Torbert12, Per-Arne Lindqvist13, Robert Ergun14 (1.Austrian Academy of Sciences, Space Research Institute, Graz, Austria, 2.St Petersburg State University, St Petersburg, Russia, 3.Space Research Institute RAS, Moscow, Russia, 4.Mullard Space Science Laboratory/UCL, Dorking, UK, 5.Space science, Technologies and Astrophysics Research (STAR) Institute, Liège, Belgium, 6.Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, Laurel, MD, United States, 7.University of California Los Angeles, IGPP/EPSS, Los Angeles, CA, United States, 8.IRF Swedish Institute of Space Physics Uppsala, Uppsala, Sweden, 9.NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Heliophysics Science Division, Greenbelt, MD, United States, 10.University of Maryland College Park, Department of Astronomy, College Park, MD, United States, 11.NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, AL, United States, 12.University of New Hampshire Main Campus, Durham, NH, United States, 13.KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden, 14.University of Colorado, Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics, Boulder, CO, United States)

12:00 PM - 12:15 PM

*Akira Kadokura1, Naritoshi Kitamura2, Yoshifumi Saito2, Barbara L Giles4, Christopher T Russell3 (1.National Institute of Polar Research, 2.Institute of Space and Astronautical Science, 3.University of California, Los Angeles, 4.National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Goddard Space Flight Center)




Please log in with your participant account.
» Participant Log In