The 16th Symposium on Biorelevant Chemistry

General Information

The 16th Symposium on Biorelevant Chemistry
(Onsite-Online hybrid


September 10–12, 2022 (JST)


Division of Biofunctional Chemistry and Division of Biotechnology, The Chemical Society of Japan


The Chemical Society of Japan, Graduate School of Engineering, Nagoya University, Institute of Nano-Life-Systems, Institutes of Innovation for Future Society, Nagoya University

Symposium Topics

Peptides, proteins, enzymes, nucleic acids, glycans, lipids, molecular recognition, supramolecules, biological model systems, genes, DDS, and a wide range of bio-related chemistry

Applications and Abstract Submissions

July 1–31, 2022 (JST)

Presentation Styles
Oral presentations:
On-site presentations on days 1 and 2 (hybrid) and online presentations on day 3  (15 minutes presentation and 5 minutes Q&A on all days)
As a general rule, one oral presentation per laboratory is allowed. However, up to two applications are acceptable. Due to program organization, even if you wish to make a second on-site presentation from your lab., you may be asked to make an online presentation (Zoom) on the third day, or to make a poster presentation (Zoom). 
The lecture award will be given to the best presentation.

Poster Presentation:
Poster presentations will be made online on the 3rd day.
There will be on-site short talks (hybrid) on days 1 and 2 for student presentors.
There will be a Student Poster Award for the best presentation.

*Hybrid and online presentation will be held using Zoom.
Application Category

(1) Molecular recognition, Supramolecules, Model systems
(2) Peptides
(3)  Proteins, Enzymes
(4) Nucleic acids
(5) Sugars, Lipids
(6) Medical biology
(7) Environmental biology
(8) Analysis, Measurement, Sensor devices
(9) DDS


Due to COVID-19 safety precautions, no banquet will be held this year.

Special Lectures

・Prof. Hideki Kandori (Department of Frontier Materials, Nagoya Institute of Technology)
・Prof. Yoshinobu Baba (Graduate School of Engineering, Nagoya University)

Executive Committee

Chairman of executive committee: Katsutoshi Hori (Nagoya University)
Vice-chairman of executive committee: Hiroshi Murakami (Nagoya University)
Members of executive committee: Osami Shoji (Nagoya University), Shigeki Kiyonaka (Nagoya University), Yuichiro Aiba (Nagoya University), Gosuke Hayashi (Nagoya University), Atsuo Suzuki (Nagoya University), Hajime Nakatani (Nagoya University), Shinya Ariyasu (Nagoya University), Hidenori Kaneoka (Nagoya University),  Tomohiro Doura (Nagoya University), Tomoshige Fujino (Nagoya University)