Eleventh International Conference of Inertial Fusion Sciences and Applications (IFSA2019)

Edward Teller Medal

Nominations are requested for the 2019 Edward Teller Medal sponsored by the American Nuclear Society. This medal is given in recognition of pioneering research and leadership in the use of lasers, ion-particle beams or other high intensity drivers to produce unique high-density matter for scientific research and to conduct investigations of inertial fusion.
The Medal and a $2000 cash prize will be awarded to each of two individuals selected by the Awards Committee at the Eleventh International Conference on Inertial Fusion Sciences and Applications (IFSA) that will be held in Osaka, Japan on September 22-27, 2019. The recipients will be offered the opportunity to present at the IFSA conference.
Nominees may be from any nation, need not be an ANS member and must be living at the time of award selection. Nominations are open to everyone who has made significant advances in capabilities (e.g. drivers, diagnostics, targets, and numerical modeling) as well as to those who have advanced the physics of inertial fusion and applications.
Anyone in the inertial fusion field can nominate someone for the Award. Nominations should include a brief summary of the nominee’s accomplishments (about 1000 words), the nominee’s curriculum vitae, a copy of five relevant publications, a suggested citation (25 words or less), and letters of recommendation from at least one and no more than five other researchers in the field. The letters of recommendation should cite the nominee’s key achievements relevant to the award. The committee may recommend that the Award not be made if a qualified candidate is not identified.
The deadline for nominations for the two awards is April 15, 2019. All material must be collected by the nominator and forwarded to the Awards Committee Chair as a complete package. Packages can be submitted by e-mail as a single PDF file to the Awards Committee Chair (town2@llnl.gov).


Edward Teller Medal Awards Committee

The selection committee consists of nine members composed of two representatives from each of the three IFSA regions (America, Europe, and Asia), the previous two Teller winners, and a chair selected and approved by the Fusion Energy Division of ANS.
Members of the Awards Committee cannot be nominated, nominate, or write letters of recommendation.
The committee’s recommendation of the Award is subject to approval by the Fusion Energy Division of ANS.
For 2019 the committee is:
  • Stefano Atzeni, Università di Roma “La Sapienza”, Italy 
  • Hiroshi Azechi, Institute of Laser Engineering, Osaka University, Japan
  • Steve Batha, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
  • Laurence Bonnet, CEA/DAM, France
  • Paul Drake, University of Michigan, USA
  • Kunioki Mima, The Graduate School for the Creation of New Photonics Industries, Japan
  • Jason Myatt, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Vladimir Tikhonchuk, University of Bordeaux, France
  • Richard Town, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA (Chair)

Edward Teller Medal Award Recipients

Stefano Atzeni, Italy – Hiroshi Azechi, Japan – Nikolai G. Basov, Russia – Riccardo Bettii, USA – Michael Campbell, USA – Robert Dautray, France – R. Paul Drake, USA –  Larry R. Foreman, USA  –  Christine Garban-Labaune, France – Steven W. Haan, USA –  James H. Hammer, USA –  Heinrich Hora, Australia –  Michael H. Key, England – Joseph D. Kilkenny, USA – Gennady A. Kirillov, Russia – John D. Lindl, USA – Robert L. McCrory, USA – Juergen Meyer-ter-Vehn, Germany – George H. Miley, USA – Kunioki Mima, Japan – Edward Moses, USA – Sadao Nakai, Japan – John H. Nuckolls, USA – Richard D. Petrasso, USA – Bruce A. Remington, USA – Mordecai D. Rosen, USA – Dov Shvarts, Israel – Laurance Suter, USA – Max Tabak, USA; Hideaki Takabe, Japan – Brian Thomas, England – Vladimir Tikhonchuk, France – Guillermo Velarde, Spain – Chiyoe Yamanaka, Japan – Jie Zhang, China – George B. Zimmerman, USA.