Joint Annual Meeting of 51st JSDB and 70th JSCB


Welcome message
Welcome to the Joint Annual Meeting of 70th JSCB and 51st JSDB co-sponsored by Asia-Pacific Developmental Biology Network to be held on June 5-8 at the Funabori Tower Hall, Tokyo, JAPAN, 2018. This is the fourth joint meeting between these societies and held for the first time in six years since the last joint meeting. Many members of both societies might have been looking forward to attending this joint meeting.

For the Joint Annual Meeting, distinguished speakers have been invited from the United States, Europe, and Asia, and will describe recent exciting developments covering the topics of cell and developmental biology. In particular, Prof. Yoshinori Ohsumi, the Nobel Laureate for his discovery of autophagy in 2016 and a longstanding contributor of JSCB, will give a special lecture for this meeting.

Besides the talks from invited speakers, our program has richer contents than usual meetings. We expect this meeting will provide you with the opportunity to meet and interact with the leading scientists and researchers from different fields, as well as friends, colleagues, and exhibitors.

On behalf of the Organizing Committee, we sincerely hope that this joint meeting will contribute to enhance interaction of cell biologists and developmental biologists which will lead to the era of more creative basic molecular biology.

With best wishes,

Akihiro Harada
Department of Cell Biology, Graduate School of Medicine, Osaka University
Shigeo Hayashi
Laboratory for Morphogenetic Signaling, RIKEN Center for Developmental Biology
Conference Chairs of the Joint Annual Meeting
General Information for Attendance
Tower Hall Funabori
4-1-1 Funabori, Edogawa-ku, Tokyo 134-0091 Japan
Phone:+81-3-5676-2211 Fax:+81-03-5676-2501
URL:  (in Japanese)

google map

Official Language:
English will be the official conference language, and no simultaneous translation will be provided.
Organizing Committee
Meeting Name JSCB
President Akihiro Harada (Osaka Univ.)
Members Shigenobu Yonemura (Univ. of Tokushima)
Miho Ohsugi (Univ. of Tokyo)
Yoshihiro Yoneda (NIBIO)
Eisuke Mekada (Osaka Univ.)
Atsushi Kumanogoh (Osaka Univ.)
Yoshinori Ohsumi (Tokyo Tech.)
Meeting Name JSDB
President Shigeo Hayashi (RIKEN CDB)
Members Toshihiko Fujimori (NIBB)
Mikiko Tanaka (Tokyo Tech.)
Hiroshi Hamada (RIKEN CDB)
Hideyuki Okano (Keio Univ.)
Haruhiko Siomi (Keio Univ.)
Co-sponsored by APDBN
Members King.L.Chow (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)
Kwan-Wok Choi (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea)
Jeff Shyh Jye Lee (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Bo Gao (Hong Kong University, Hong Kong)
Mahendra Sonawane (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India)
Jun-An Chen (Institute of Molecular Biology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
Joint Annual Meeting of JSDB 51st & JSCB 70th Secretariat